Timber Counties Program

Timber Counties Committee is to create a forum for County Commissioners, County Council Members, County Executives and county staff within the 29 Timber Counties to interact, discuss, engage and recommend WSAC positions on issues relating to:

Federal land management, BLM and US Forest Service,

Department of Natural Resources management of Federal Trust lands and “State Forest Lands” held in trust for Washington Counties,

Forest Practices Board regulation and their impacts on counties,

County relations with DNR/USFSWildfire control/management,

Maintaining open communications and interaction with DNR, the Forest Practices Board, The Board of Natural Resources, the US Forest Service, the Bureau of Land Management, as well as the stakeholders associated with these entities,

Providing input to the NACO Public Lands Steering Committee on all issues relevant to Washington’s counties.


Each member of a Legislative Body, the County Executives and their designees from one of the 29 Timber Counties that includes:

Asotin, Chelan, Clallam, Clark, Columbia, Cowlitz, Ferry, Garfield, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, King, Kitsap, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lewis, Mason, Okanogan, Pacific, Pend Oreille, Pierce,  Skagit, Skamania, Snohomish, Stevens, Thurston, Wahkiakum, Walla Walla, Whatcom, Yakima.

Laura Berg provides staff support to county commissioners involved in this Program.  Laura can be reached by e-mail at lberg@wsac.org.