# 2020 DIRECTORY LEGISLATIVE STEERING COMMITTEE





# ABOUT WSAC

The Collective Voice of Washington's Counties for Over 100 Years

Created in 1906, the Washington State Association of Counties (WSAC) is a voluntary, non-profit association serving all of Washington's 39 counties. WSAC members include elected county commissioners, council members and executives.

# Legislative Steering Committee (LSC)

The Legislative Steering Committee (LSC) is composed of one member from each of WSAC's member counties as well as each of the four County Executives. The LSC has two co-chairs that are appointed biennially by the WSAC President. LSC members have frequent interaction, particularly during the state's legislative session with legislators, agency staff, and representatives of other organizations. In addition to setting the policy direction for the association through the Legislative Agenda, LSC members are expected to attend regular meetings during legislative session and to communicate with legislators regarding WSAC's legislative priorities.

## **Co-Chairs**



Wes McCart



Derek Young

# **2020 Legislative Priorities**

# Involuntary Treatment Act Court Funding

There is an emergent statewide need for increased non-Medicaid funding. The un-braiding of Medicaid and non-Medicaid funding as a result of the state moving to integrated managed care for behavioral health has exposed the significant shortfall in non-Medicaid funding allocated to **Behavioral Health Administrative** Service Organizations to fund the ever increasing Involuntary Treatment Act costs as well as all other essential behavioral health programs and services.

### **Unfunded Mandates**

The Legislature has continued to shift costs through policy changes and legislation down to county government. To pay for these unfunded mandates, counties divert funds from road maintenances leaving critical public safety positions unfilled to meet the obligations from the state. Counties oppose any changes that will increase county costs without funding attached.

## **Fish Barriers**

Counties support a coordinated approach to fish passage barrier removal. Now is the time to develop a coordinated program that removes state, local, and private barriers that completely open habitat throughout watersheds.

## **Public Defense**

Access to a defense attorney is a fundamental constitutional right where the responsibility has been passed down to counties. The Legislature funds less than 4% of the costs and counties spend \$156 million annually. For equal access to justice, the Legislature must fund the full cost of trial court public defense services.



John Marshall Adams County Commissioner (509) 659-3236 johnm@co.adams.wa.us



Jim Jeffords Asotin County Commissioner (509) 243-2060 jjeffords@co.asotin.wa.us



Jerome Delvin Benton County Commissioner (509) 578-5600 jerome.delvin@co.benton.wa.us



Doug England Chelan County Commissioner (509) 667-6215 doug.england@co.chelan.wa.us



4

#### **Bill Peach**

Clallam County Commissioner (360) 417-2256 bpeach@co.clallam.wa.us



John Blom Clark County Councilor (564) 397-2232 John.Blom@clark.wa.gov



Charles Amerein Columbia County Commissioner (509) 382-4542 <u>charles\_amerein@co.columbia.</u> <u>wa.us</u>



Dennis Weber Cowlitz County Commissioner (360) 577-3020 weberd@co.cowlitz.wa.us



Dan Sutton Douglas County Commissioner (509) 745-8537 dsutton@co.douglas.wa.us



Johnna Exner Ferry County Commissioner (509) 775-5225 jexner@co.ferry.wa.us



Brad Peck Franklin County Commissioner (509) 546-5856 bpeck@co.franklin.wa.us



Robert Johnson Garfield County Commissioner (509) 843-1441 bjohnson@co.garfield.wa.us

5



Tom Taylor Grant County Commissioner (509) 754-2011 thtaylor@grantcountywa.gov



Vickie Raines Grays Harbor County Commissioner (360) 249-3731 <u>vraines@co.grays-harbor.wa.us</u>



Helen Price Johnson Island County Commissioner (360) 679-7385 h.price\_johnson@ islandcountywa.gov



Kate Dean Jefferson County Commissioner (360) 385-9100 kdean@co.jefferson.wa.us



6

Kathy Lambert King County Council Councilmember (206) 477-1025 kathy.lambert@kingcounty.gov



Robert Gelder Kitsap County Commissioner (360) 337-4667 rgelder@co.kitsap.wa.us



Laura Osiadacz Kittitas County Commissioner (509) 962-7508 Iaura.osiadacz@co.kittitas.wa.us



Jim Sizemore Klickitat County Commissioner (509) 773-4612 jims@klickitatcounty.org



Edna Fund Lewis County Commissioner (360) 740-1419 edna.fund@lewiscountywa.gov



Scott Hutsell Lincoln County Commissioner (509) 725-3031 shutsell@co.lincoln.wa.us



Sharon Trask Mason County Commissioner (360) 427-9670 strask@co.mason.wa.us



Chris Branch Okanogan County Commissioner (509) 422-7105 cbranch@co.okanogan.wa.us



Lisa Olsen Pacific County Commissioner (360) 875-9337 Iolsen@co.pacific.wa.us



Karen Skoog Pend Oreille County Commissioner (509) 447-4119 kskoog@pendoreille.org



Derek Young Pierce County Council Councilmember (253) 798-6065 <u>derek.young@</u> piercecountywa.gov



Jamie Stephens San Juan County Councilmember (360) 378-2898 jamies@sanjuanco.com



8

Lisa Janicki

Skagit County Commissioner (360) 416-1310 Jjanicki@co.skagit.wa.us



Bob Hamlin Skamania County Commissioner (509) 427-3706 hamlin@co.skamania.wa.us



Megan Dunn Snohomish County Council Councilmember (425) 388-7038 megan.dunn@snoco.org



Al French Spokane County Commissioner (509) 477-2265 <u>afrench@spokanecounty.org</u>



Wes McCart Stevens County Commissioner (509) 684-3751 wmccart@stevenscountywa.gov



John Hutchings Thurston County Commissioner (509) 786-5440 john.hutchings@co.thurston. wa.us



**Gene Strong** Wahkiakum County Commissioner (360) 795-8048 <u>strongg@co.wahkiakum.wa.us</u>



Greg Tompkins Walla Walla County Commissioner (509) 524-2505 gtompkins@co.walla-walla.wa.us

9



Rud Browne Whatcom County Council Councilmember (360) 778-5010 rbrowne@co.whatcom.wa.us



Vicki Baker Yakima County Commissioner (509) 574-1500 vicki.baker@co.yakima.wa.us



10

# Michael Largent

Whitman County Commissioner (509) 397-5246 <u>michaell@whitmancounty.net</u>

# **Policy Staff Directory**



Mellani McAleenan Director, Government Relations & General Counsel (360) 489-3015 mmcaleenan@wsac.org



Jaime Bodden Managing Director, Washington State Association of Local Public Health Officials (WSALPHO) (360) 489-3011 jbodden@wsac.org



Paul Jewell Policy Director (360) 489-3024 pjewell@wsac.org



Jane Wall Managing Director, Washington State Association of County Engineers (WSACE) (360) 489-3014 jwall@wsac.org



Juliana Roe Policy Director (360) 489-3012 jroe@wsac.org



Mike Hoover Policy Consultant Mike Hoover Public Affairs (360) 561-6853 mike@hooverpa.com

