Today, Eric Johnson, Executive Director of the Washington State Association of Counties (WSAC), announced that he will step down from his position effective May 31, 2024.

Eric joined the WSAC staff in December 2005 and has held the role of Executive Director since 2008. His public service has included working in park and natural resource administration at city, county, and state levels, with his first county government experience at Lewis County Parks, Recreation, and Senior Service in 1984. Eric was elected in 2000 and re-elected in 2004 as a Lewis County Commissioner.

In speaking to the WSAC Board of Directors, Eric expressed his sincere appreciation for the opportunity to serve county-elected and appointed officials in Washington State. “As I have said many, many times, I believe deeply in County Government. We are blessed to be part of a country where we elect our fellow citizens to self-govern, administer, and lead our counties. For me, counties remain the heart of our representative democracy. I have tremendous admiration for those who are willing to step forward to serve their community and even more appreciation for those that have a respect for the institution, and recognize the tremendous responsibility that comes with being an elected and appointed county official.”

Speaking on behalf of the Board of Directors, Commissioner Kuney noted that, “while we will have time to acknowledge Eric’s nearly two decades of service to the Association, for now, I just want to simply extend my thanks for his tireless, unwavering commitment, and dedication to serving WSAC members, Affiliates, and our State’s 39 Counties.

President Kuney noted that the WSAC Executive Committee is finalizing a transition and recruitment plan and intends to have a new Executive Director in place before Eric’s departure. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to reach out to one of the WSAC Executive Committee Members, or WSAC Director of Operations and Administration, Bridget Lockling, who is supporting the work of the Executive Committee on transition activities.

  • Spokane County Commissioner, Mary Kuney, WSAC President
  • Skagit County Commissioner, Lisa Janicki, WSAC 1st Vice President
  • Lincoln County Commissioner, Rob Coffman, WSAC 2nd Vice President
  • Whitman County Commissioner, Michael Largent, WSAC Past President

Read the letter to the WSAC membership, here.